Hot room confessions

a snapshot into my Bikram yoga world

What’s your yoga face?

For the past week I’ve been trying to focus on the expression I have in class. Sometimes I peek around me in class and notice people’s expressions (I know, I know, focus on myself only!). Most have a blank, somewhat negative looking face. Some people look like they’re dying. Every once in a while there’s someone with a pleasant face.

There’s this one yogi with the best half smile. He looks like he’s having a BLAST in class with this marvelous smirk on his face. He’s just there soaking in the hot wet amazing-ness of Bikram yoga. I want to have that expression too! I love going to yoga- I need to show it!

Do you know how hard it is to work your butt off yet maintain an expression that says I’m not working hard at all? It’s difficult.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “What’s your yoga face?

  1. I noticed I always look grumpy during class. I am not grumpy though! Promise. It is hard to think about your face when your concentrating.

    yoginisays.com

  2. I get deliriously happy in the hot room. I am always grinning and laughing while I’m practicing.

  3. I appreciate the frequent reminders by the teacher in class to “relax your face-eyes open-breathe normally”, and of course the phrase “smiling happy faces!” I find that I grimace sometimes when I’m breathing hard and trying to control my breath. I’m not in pain but sometimes look like I am, so its great to hear “relax your face” and I try to smile.

Leave a Reply

