Hot room confessions

a snapshot into my Bikram yoga world

Health Challenge 2014: Weeks 4 and 5

It’s been a tough couple of weeks! Cold weather (“ice days”), being tired (and a little unmotivated), lack of time, etc. Even though I’m not going to class everyday (although I’ve only missed two days) I’m still feeling the mid challenge lull. Feeling stuck and aimless in class. Not wanting to be there (I almost always want to go to class, I don’t usually have to MAKE myself go to class).

Still going 6-7 days a week no problem (3 for the hubby).

Backbending is the same. I’m not sure if my backbends are improving but the other postures are still feeling adjustments. After class this week, the teacher came in to clean the room up for the next class as I was doing my backward bending homework.  I have her at least once a week and sees me working after class. She’ll come up and give me tips or encourage (which I REALLY needed this week!).

This week I was the last one in the room so chatted as I picked up my things. We talked about how my backbending is going. Every change I mentioned she laughed and said she knows exactly what I’m going through (even the frustration without feeling progress). She was genuinely interested in what I am doing and how I’m feeling. It made me feel connected to someone about what is going on in my practice. It made me feel like I’m doing what I need to be doing although I’m not physically seeing a change. She definitely made my evening!

My hubby is a little static- I’m hearing less about his progress. His back has been hurting less. Possibly because he’s stretching it out on a foam roller in the evenings (I have to hear all the groans of pain as he does it- BOYS).

So I’m here, I’m going to class no matter how I’m feeling or what’s going on in my head, silencing my brain as much as possible.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Health Challenge 2014: Weeks 4 and 5

  1. Good job sticking through it!

Leave a Reply

