Hot room confessions

a snapshot into my Bikram yoga world

How sick is too sick to go to yoga?

Really! How sick is too sick?

I go most days. I go when I don’t feel good. I’ve been when I’ve been SICK. I feel like the heat helps with all kinds of respiratory issues (which is pretty much my only version of sick). It loosens up the junk in my chest. I feel like there’s a fine line between going to yoga because it will make you feel better and going but then feeling worse (or being contagious).

I have been to class with a sinus infection and inverting my head was painful but for most of the class it was nice to not think about how bad I felt. Is what weird? I think it was a good idea for me to go that time…… I know that your core body temperature goes up a couple degrees during class. I bet that low grade artificial “fever” helps early infections.

I have done a double and not felt right, both classes were pretty miserable. The next day I woke up with a fever and had the flu (sorry to anyone I practiced next to… I was probably contagious). Obviously class that day was a bad idea…….

If I have a crazy cough I’m not going to go because I don’t want to be a huge distraction to everyone else (although I bet the humidity and heat would actually help the cough).

I woke up with a scratchy throat. It’s been bugging me all day. My lymph nodes in my throat are getting a little swollen (happens all the time with me). I’m going to go to yoga. Is it a good idea? NO IDEA!

PS: My studio has a non-profit and part of it focuses on research in hope of someday yoga being covered by insurance. Check out their website if you want to read stuff like cardiac pressure, internal temperature, or even caloric expenditure during a Bikram yoga class.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “How sick is too sick to go to yoga?

  1. Stay at home. Your contagious and will make other practitioners sick.

    • Totally! I feel so bad going when I had the flu and was contagious! I had no idea I had it.

      But usually I’m at this weird sinus congestion point where I wonder if I’m getting a cold or just allergies? It drives me crazy!

Leave a Reply

