Hot room confessions

a snapshot into my Bikram yoga world

How does diet afftect yoga?

I am always thinking about how what I’m eating will affect my yoga later.

Do I really want to eat that hamburger three hours before yoga?

Here are some things I know I shouldn’t eat during the day before an evening Bikram yoga class:

  • Jalapenos (made this mistake multiple times)
  • Lots of garlic/onions
  • Sausage
  • Fast food in general
  • Bagel and cream cheese (just not too soon)

I’ve also noticed that what I eat the night before can have some affects on yoga the next day. Specifically margaritas and Mexican food. Especially margaritas. I figure it’s that they contain tons of sugar and tequila.

Are there foods that are off limits to you before a yoga class?

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “How does diet afftect yoga?

  1. Pingback: First Yoga Class | Sheer Serendipity

  2. Cheeseburger and french fries. I went veg for 40 days right when I started practicing which I think was my optimal diet. Then I broke down, ate a huge cheeseburger with french fries and went to class 3 hours later. I swear, I smelled like fryer. It was like oil was emitting from all of more pores.

  3. The information given in this article is just correct and it is true that how diet effect to yoga or to yogi.

Leave a Reply

